Way Out West – The Free Stuff

omslag

As I mentioned in my previous post about Way Out West, it’s quite common that visitors recieve free stuff when they attend the festival, and this year was no different. I wanted to show you the goodies I got during my first day and to tell you a little bit about them.


w1

The first thing I got as I entered the festival was this drink from Oatly with orange/mango flavour. It’s made out of an oat base (water and oats) apple juice, orange juice, mango juice, mango puree, lemon juice and it’s free from lactose, milk protein and soy. It smells like juice and the only way I can describe the taste is like a fruit flavored milk, without the oatmeal aftertaste and without being too sweet. I actually really liked it, but then again I’m no stranger when it comes to Oatly products.

As I mentioned in my previous post, Oatly also handed out free t-shirts to everyone who googled the word “milk”. The line for this activity was long and I decided to explore other parts of the festival instead.

w2

I girl came up to me as I walked away from Oatly and she shoved a whole bunch of Berocca samples into my hand. I asked her why she gave me so many and she just smiled at me and said that each bag contain one sample (as if one weren’t enough). I’ve never had Berocca before, but they contain magnesium and many other vitamins that I take in order to prevent my migraines. The taste reminds me of passionfruit, and while I love the taste of passionfruit I’m not sure that I could observe any positive effect from trying it. (Hilarious note: I took one before going to bed and woke up with a cold the next day.)

image_57b05cd72a6b2299ae057afe

SJ handed out, not only free coffee (as mentioned in my previous post) but also nuts, chocolate and waterbottles. Close to the Azalea stage and the two screens reminding everyone to rehydrate, SJ also had a station where you could refill the bottles with water. The text on the bottle reads “For when you have a thrist for more than just good music”.

w3

Metro had a big bowl filled with green ponchos and despite the fact that I got there 15 minutes after the opening I got one of the last ones. I never got to use it as I decided not to go to the festival during the last two days (I rocked the shit out of my cold at home instead) but I will definitely save it for rainy day – I loved the color!

image_57b05cb3ddf2b351f2a71bac

Metro also handed out these tote bags that in my opinion where so much better than the ones they handed out last year (both sturdier and with a nicer print). They all came with a Metro covering the festival. I also got a tote bag from Brämhults but it was made out of a much thinner material.

w4

Last but not least – these were the nuts that SJ handed out (I also got the chocolate but I ate it #sorrynotsorry). As you can see they’re fairtrade cashews with a little bit of seasalt. I’m not sure but I believe that they handed these samples out because they are going to start selling these products on the trains, at least one of the people who worked there told me so (or something like it, I’m not 100% sure).

Despite having a three day pass I decided to stay at home during the last two days because of my cold and the heavy rain, but I really enjoyed my first day and made the most of my stay at the festival. I hope you enjoyed reading about all the free stuff and I hope to see you at the festival next year!

 

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

1 thought on “Way Out West – The Free Stuff”

Leave a Reply

