Kulturverkstan at Sjövik

s1

To prepare for our upcoming internships, my class went on a two day field trip to Sjövik where we did several exercises in order to define and to better understand what we want to learn as interns. While I had never been to Sjövik before, despite it being located no very far from Gothenburg, I was quite surprised by how beautiful and peaceful it was.


s2

We stayed at Sjöviksgården, which is a small camping site located by the lake Mjörn. We all stayed in tiny rooms with two bunk beds in each, all within walking distance from the lake.

s3.jpg

After we had settled into our rooms, we were given exercises by our teachers to help us define our goals, directions and the different steps we need to take in order to create a good foundation for the upcoming work.

s4

After finishing our assignments we went to the lake where some enjoyed the slightly cold but refreshing water while others relaxed in the sun. Some locals also turned up to do some fishing.

s5

s6

No swimming for me! But the warmth of the sun was more than enough to keep me satisfied.

s7

s8

We had this amazing, vegan chickpea stew with couscous and coriander for lunch.

s9

s10

s11

We were divided into different teams with food responsibilities (breakfast, lunch, dinner etc) and later that evening my team decided to make apple pie for desert.

s12

s13

As I woke up early the next day, the entire camp was quiet and I decided to join some of my fellow early birds on a walk in the woods. It was a beautiful morning.

s14

s15

s16

The remaining part of the second day was also spent on exercises and after a couple of hours most of us were pretty much done with social interraction for the day (it’s more draining than one might think!). After lunch we packed our bags and cleaned the area before heading back to the bus station.

And as I’m writing this I’m back home, and despite being tired I have to say that the trip was a lot more fun than I had imagined it would be! There’s always something special about spending time with people you see everyday in a different environment. – And speaking of school, this week (tomorrow) is the beginning of a new class I’m taking, roughly translated into “Marketing for the cultural sector”, it’s going to be exciting!

Now I’m going to have a late dinner and then I’m off to bed.
Goodnight everyone!

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

Leave a Reply

