Food Market at Magasinsgatan

f1

Yesterday I attended an event in the city center, a Food Market at Magasinsgatan. I wanted to give it a try since the annual market at Tjolöholm Slott, which I usually visit, got cancelled this year. Me and K spent the entire day walking around the city and we had a great time at the market.

jag2

With the Mafia series in the background I got inspired and went for a vintage look with my make up (which I’m usually too lazy to even bother with these days). In the picture you can see my natural hair, which I have decided to let grow back out and it’s a little pain to not have a real haircut, which is why I straightened it and tucked it into a headwrap before heading out. These dry curls are no friend of mine!

f2

Me and K walked through the city to do some chores before we went to the market, and it was a beautiful day to go for a stroll. We walked through Vasa, which you can see in the picture above.

f3

So the market was a great initiative and I really liked it but I would have liked to see more items for sale since everything sold were locally produced. Then again I’m spoiled with the massive market at Tjolöholm and Magasinsgatan, while it’s a cosy street, is also quite small in size.

f4

At the market there were veggies, greens, honey, flour and some other tasty things for sale.

f5

f6

I decided to get myself some food from one of the food trucks, and I went for this one. The lines were long and while I had planned to try a lot of different foods I only ended up trying the food from this truck. I’ll give the other ones a try some other time!

f7

I got the pork buns with a can of soda for roughly $10 and it was totally worth it. Braised porkbelly, steamed bao bread, hoisinsauce, pickled cucumber, roasted peanuts, cilantro, soy mayonaise, kimchisalsa, sirarcha.. Yaaas. If you’re curious about the food and the food truck, you can find more info on their official site.

f8

As you can see the place got incredibly crowded and we decided to leave for some window shopping. We went on to check out some stores and the sale at Beyond Retro before we met up with a friend and went to Bengans, a record store here in Gothenburg, to watch a live gig.

I wish we had more markets in the city, because it’s so cosy and it really makes it easier to buy locally produced food. Note to Magasinsgatan – Keep up the good work and bring on more exciting things to try next time, we liked it and we want more!

Make sure to keep an eye out for the upcoming vlog I will post later today. 🙂

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

Leave a Reply

