A Travel Buddy Update

fushimi-inari-taisha-shrine-1613765_1280

As most of you know, I’m planning a trip to Japan 2017 and I’m super excited! I have a very common problem, however – and that is that I don’t know who to bring. Most of my friends have either been to Japan several times or have made other plans (work, babies, projects), and finding a random stranger to travel with turned out to be harder than I expected. I wanted to provide you with an update and my thoughts on this travel buddy thing.


Here is a quick list of things that I have done so far in order to find that amazing person that I’ll be bringing on my trip to Japan in spring:

nick

– I wrote about my search for a travel buddy on the blog. (Read it here)
A lot of friendly people wished me good luck, but it got me zero messages from people who actually wanted to know more or come with me.

4q4ox

– I wrote about it on my personal Facebook page.
It got me a lot of likes, but not much more. I should ask people to share it with their friends however, since the people I do know can’t go themselves. I have about 250 friends on Facebook, just imagine if their friends got access to my post as well – that’s a lot of people.

whapc

– I wrote ads on travel buddy sites (both Swedish and international).
I got 2 messages in total, but the people who contacted me were so young, I seriously wonder if their parents would even let them travel on their own (and it just wouldn’t work for me to go with someone who is that much younger than I am). It seems like these sites are mostly for young people in their early twenties, looking for someone who want to backpack with them in Thailand and Austraila.

newgirlwritersblock

– I wrote ads on various travel groups on Facebook.
As a contrast to the travel buddy sites where most people were very young, most of the people in the FB groups were middle aged and wanted to do a weekend or so somewhere in Europe. It also got me zero messages.

The one question I keep coming back to is where are all the curious and adventurous people at? I’m not saying that I’m the most wild and crazy person out there, far from it, but there has to be someone out there who want to go on an adventure, exploring everything from the busy streets of Tokyo to the Japanese countryside, right?

Don’t worry, I’m not giving up yet. But maybe you have some ideas that you would like to share on where I can continue this search? 🙂 Leave a comment below and I will keep you updated on how things are going.

 

 

 

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

Leave a Reply

