Youtube Travel Inspiration – Japan (Part 1)

beach-1976582_1280.jpg

I don’t really know why, but I’m the kind of person who will wake up one morning with a sudden and intense desire to go some place specific in the world. I had never been tempted to go to Japan before, but suddenly one day I just realised that I have to go. Usually when I have decided on where I want to go, I just begin to absorb all the information and inspiration I can to the point where I lose track of time (and there is nothing I love more than obsessing over a place I’m going to even of it’s months in advance).

While I’m a part of many travel related groups on facebook, I can’t help but being a little uncomfortable when people write things like “I have been in Thailand now for three days and I was wondering if you have any advice on fun things to do here?” simply because that’s just not the kind of traveller I am. Half the fun for me when it comes to travelling is getting inspired before a trip and youtube is a great source when it comes to travel inspiration. Here are my current favorite youtube channels covering Japan.

Rachel and Jun

Married couple Rachel and Jun live in Japan and through their channel they share everything from travel advice to inspirational travelling videos within Japan as well as videos from their everyday lives. Jun also has his own channel where he cooks different Japanese dishes alongside their cat Haku.

Internationally Me

Angela’s youtube channel focuses on showing the parts of Japan that are more local/unknown and her street food videos are amazing because they include so much information and a great variety that will make you want to get on a plane if you aren’t already going.

Sharla in Japan

Sharla has two channels (Sharla in Japan and Sharmander) and I love them both simply because they are fun and playful, but her Japan related videos are really good and she often make videos about things in Japan that you cannot find anywhere else.

Only in Japan

John Daub make videos in which he brings you along to explore Japan and I really enjoy his street food videos in which he travel to different parts of Japan and try the food in local markets.

Thingamavlog and PatrickzFilms

Thingamavlog is a channel made by a group of friends (including PatrickzFilms) who love Disney and Disney parks. If you are going to the Disney resort in Japan I really recommend their channel in which they cover practical information and try everything from food to rides in the parks.

Do you have any Japan related youtube recommendations you would like to share? Leave a comment below and I will check it out!

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

Leave a Reply

