My Travel Essentials!

omslag1copy.jpg

The day is finally here!

As I’m leaving for Italy and Japan tomorrow I’ve been busy all day finishing my last school assignments and packing my bags, and I figured it would be fun to show you what I consider my most important travel essentials!


FullSizeRender (1).jpg

First we have these blue, little earplugs. I’m not sure why, but when I started travelling a few years ago I learned that my ears do not agree with flying. It’s not a normal kind of pressure I experience while flying, but a horrific one that stays with me for days and makes any plane ride totally unbearable.. This is why I decided to gave Earplanes a try. These days I never get on a plane without them. While they don’t take all of the pain away, they get me through the flight. If you have any issues with your ears while flying I really recommend them, just make sure you plug them in all the way, even if it might seem a little weird and uncomfortable.

IMG_0606.JPG

It might seem a little crazy to bring a first aid kit on your trip, but I really have no regrets. On my last trip to Budapest my feet got totally wrecked and I had not made it through the trip without my kit. This time I’m not bringing the entire kit, but to travel without any kind of first aid material would not work for me because I tend to get bruised as the true adventurer that I am. (lol just kidding)

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

And speaking of wrecked feet, I always bring an extra pair of shoes because it’s nice to switch between two pairs. Just consider how much it would suck to have your feet get wet if it rained during the trip, and you wouldn’t be able to change your shoes because you only brought one pair.

When it comes to shoes I never do sandals while I travel. They might look nice and I do use them all the time at home, but for the massive amount of walking I do while travelling they are totally worthless.

IMG_0609.JPG

It’s probably the least sexy thing I have ever purchased (and quite expensive too), but I just hate not being able to rest my head, and my neck, while flying. The cool thing about this neck pillow is that while it’s pretty huge, you can roll it into small ball and store it in a little bag that came with it in the package – it weighs almost nothing and takes up zero space.

Fun fact: I’ve used this while playing video games on the couch at home and it’s amazing.

IMG_1206.JPG

Last but not least, I bring Lush products with me on my trips. It might seem a little over the top, especially since their simple shampoo bars can be used for so many things, but I like to spoil myself and I only bring small bottles and packages. A smart thing to consider is to use up the tiny bottles on the trip and recycle the empthy bottles in a Lush shop before you head home, giving you more space in the bag. And having those washsheets in my wallet is such a hack I can’t believe I didn’t try them sooner.

What are your travel essentials and why?

Author: Saga Grönqvist

Cultural project manager, sfx makeup entusiast, comic book collector, gamer and an adventurer at heart.

Leave a Reply

